Culture and the Arts Funded Organisations

The Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries - Culture and the Arts -  provides funding to non-government arts organisations as a base from which they can then generate income through sponsorship, box office earnings and funding from other bodies to support their annual program activities.
In 2015, Culture and the Arts introduced the Organisations Investment Program (‘the Program’), an open and competitive funding program set up to deliver public benefits across three areas:
  • The artistic and arts/cultural sector – supporting excellence, innovation and diversity in artistic and cultural practice.
  • The community – growing, diversifying and deepening Western Australian audiences and their engagement with arts and cultural experiences.
  • The economy – increasing the contribution that the arts and cultural sector makes to the Western Australian economy.

The Program supports professional arts and cultural organisations that:

  • are not-for-profit, legally constituted and non-government
  • have presented professional arts and cultural programs for two years or more; and
  • are based in Western Australia.

Following a competitive process, 35 organisations have been offered funding in the inaugural round of the Program. Read more about these organisations here.

Culture and the Arts also provides recurrent funding to the Major Performing Arts organisations, being Black Swan State Theatre Company, West Australian Ballet, West Australian Opera and the West Australian Symphony Orchestra.

Funding to non-government organisations Country Arts WA and Community Arts Network Western Australia is also provided to manage some regional and community arts programs.

For those artists, organisations and schools interested in funding arts projects or having an artist in residence, read information about the Grants Programs. The Department, via Culture and the Arts, distributes more than $3 million annually in project funding, which includes the Creative Development, Commercial Development, Community Engagement, Aboriginal Arts and Scholarship and Fellowships.