General Capabilities

The Australian Curriculum has identified a comprehensive set of knowledge, skills and dispositions or general capabilities that will assist students to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century.
The General Capabilities are listed as:
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT) capability
  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Ethical Understanding
  • Personal and Social Capability
  • Intercultural Understanding
Overviews that describe the nature, scope and significance of each general capability are on the general capabilities section of the Australian Curriculum website. How the capabilities are applied to the Western Australian Curriculum can be found on the School Curriculum and Standards website here.