Australian Curriculum Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA)

ACARA is an independent statutory authority responsible for national curriculum from Kindergarten to Year 12 in specified learning areas; national assessment program aligned to the national curriculum; national data collection and reporting program; and, accountability and reporting on schools and broader national achievement. 

The Australian Curriculum

In September 2015, the Education Council endorsed the Australian Curriculum in eight learning areas. The Australian Curriculum that was endorsed includes: The revised Foundation (F) - Year 10 Australian Curriculum: English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Health and Physical Education; Foundation - Year 10 Australian Curriculum: Languages for Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Modern Greek, Spanish and Vietnamese; Australian Curriculum: Work studies, Years 9-10 (an optional subject designed to ready young people for work). See the ACARA media release here.

The implementation of endorsed curriculum is a matter for state and territory school and curriculum authorities - they decide when and how the Australian Curriculum is implemented in their state or territory.

Information about the Australian Curriculum F-10 is available from the Australian Curriculum website at 

Adaptation of the Australian Curriculum for implementation in Western Australian Schools

The School Curriculum and Standards Authority is responsible for the curriculum content and implementation timelines for Western Australia.
The Western Australian Curriculum and Assessment Outline (The Outline) is now available to all schools. It sets out the knowledge, understandings, skills, values and attitudes that students are expected to acquire, and guidelines for the assessment of student achievement. It also highlights how the Western Australian Curriculum relates to the Australian Curriculum and the Early Years Learning Framework. The Outline is for all students from Kindergarten to Year 10. The Outline includes curriculum, policy advice and guidelines for all Western Australian schools. 
Curriculum support is also provided to schools via the Department of Education website at .